The Winters Heritage House is composed of three early adjacent structures;
a German log house (left side), a Scots-Irish log house (center), and a brick
and timber shop (right side)
Located only ½ block from Elizabethtown’s square, the
Winters Heritage House Museum preserves two of the community’s earliest structures. Built in 1760, when this
area was the frontier of the British colonies, the homes
exhibit the building styles of Scots-Irish and German
settlers. Slated for demolition in the late 1980s, these
historic structures were rescued and preserved by the
Elizabethtown Preservation Associates, an offshoot
of the town’s historical society and created to protect our
town’s vanishing historic structures. Given new purpose as a non-profit educational entity, these colonial log buildings are now dedicated to research, preservation and
education of our town’s unique and wonderful history.
In 1995, Esther Winters, an Elizabethtown citizen with a lovefor history, took the fledgling museum under her wing and greatly assisted the volunteer efforts underway.
To commemorate her generosity, the complex was named
The Winters Heritage House Museum.